OLC Effective Practices

To help make quality online education accessible and affordable for anyone, anywhere, at any time, the members of the OLC community share techniques, strategies, and practices in online education that have worked for them. All effective practices are peer reviewed to insure quality and to give submitters some documentation for tenure and promotion files. OLC focuses on five pillars of quality (see framework and narrative) in online education: access, learning effectiveness, faculty satisfaction, student satisfaction, and scale (institutional commitment to achieve capacity enrollment via cost effectiveness). See 2016 Effective Practice Award winners




Effective Practice Submissions for 2017

2017 Awards will be presented at OLC Innovate and at OLC Accelerate.  Awards for the current round of submissions will be presented at OLC Innovate in New Orleans, LA, April 5-7 2017. 

We encourage you to submit your own effective practices on any topic related to innovation and/or technology enhancing  blended and/or online education. The current round of submissions is open through January 15, 2017. Remember these practices are peer reviewed and can help with tenure and promotion. To add an effective practice, login to OLC and then click here: Add an Effective Practice (you must be logged in). Please note it will take time for peer reviewers to review EP submissions.  We will email you when when the committee has made selections. All Effective Practice Award recipients for the current selection round will be asked to present their EP at OLC Innovate. 

Preparing for Submission

To help you prepare for submission you will need to submit the following fields on the submission form. Once we have this updated, we can create a brief screencast video showing people how to upload and the process to make things easier for them and hopefully increase the quality of submissions.

  • Brief Abstract of the Effective Practice
  • Expanded Description of the Effective Practice
  • Supporting Information to help us understand the Effective Practice – the community will see these support documents.

View the Effectice Practices

Effective Practice Awards Selection Committee

  • Renee Aitken, AVP for Educational Effectiveness & Institutional Accreditation, Wright State University
  • Bucky Dodd, Executive Director of eLearning and Innovations, University of Central Oklahoma
  • Arifa Garman, Director of E-Learning, Gulf Coast State College
  • Angela M. Gibson, Professor, Core Learning and the School of Arts & Humanities, American Public University System
  • Jaya Kannan, Director, Office of Digital Learning, Sacred Heart University
  • Dr. Sedef Smith, Executive Director of Instruction & Faculty Development, University of Houston Downtown

Sign up for email updates to get notified of award nominations and winners.