2005 Sloan-C Awards

2005 Sloan-C Awards - Presented at the 11th Sloan-C Annual International Conference on Asynchronous Learning Networks.

These annual awards recognize significant contributions to online education. 

2005 Sloan-C Excellence in Online Teaching & Learning Award Recipients

2005 Sloan-C Awards Brochure

Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching
University of Massachusetts Lowell, Online Teaching Institute

Excellence in Institution-Wide Online Teaching & Learning Programming
University of Massachusetts Lowell, Online Education Program

Excellence in Online Teaching
Joan Cannon, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Most Outstanding Achievement in Online Learning by an Individual
Charles Dziuban, University of Central Florida

Most Outstanding Online Teaching & Learning Program
University of Maryland University College, MBA Program


2005 Sloan-C Awards Selection Committee:

Judith S. Eaton, President, Council for Higher Education Accreditation
Starr Roxanne Hiltz, Distinguished Professor, New Jersey Institute of Technology (2004 Sloan-C Award for Most Outstanding Achievement in Online Learning by an Individual)
John V. Lombardi, President, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Joseph McDonald, President, Salish-Kootenai College
William Messner, President, Holyoke Community College
Burks Oakley II, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Illinois (2003 Award for Most Outstanding Achievement in Online Teaching & Learning by an Individual)
Gerardo de los Santos, President, League for Innovation in the Community College
Ray Schroeder, Professor of Communication, University of Illinois at Springfield (2002 Sloan-C Award for Most Outstanding Achievement in ALN by an Individual)
Eric E. Fredericksen, Eric E. Fredericksen, Associate Vice Provost, University of Rochester, non-voting committee chair


2005 Sloan-C Effective Practice Award

Mercy College (New York) for its practice of"Using Cohorts to Build an Online Learning Community."


2005 Effective Practices Award Nomination and Selection Committees

Nominees for Effective Practices Awards were made by the Sloan-C editors for effective

Tana Bishop, the University of Maryland University College
Melody Thompson, The Pennsylvania State University World Campus
John Sener, Sener Learning Services
Peter Shea, The University at Albany
Karen Swan, Kent State University

Awardees were selected by an invited panel of judges:

John Olin Campbell, Brigham Young University
Bruce Chaloux, Southern Regional Education Board
Mary Niemiec, University of Illinois at Chicago
George Otte, City University of New York
Carol Scarafiotti, Rio Salado College