The 2016 Effective Practice Award recipients were:

  • Nayana Parange, University of South Australia, for “Fostering Sustained, Authentic Learning Among Tomorrow’s Obstetric and Gynecological Sonographers in a Fully Online Postgraduate Course”
  • Beth Oyarzun and Elizabeth Gazza, University of North Carolina Wilmington, for “Applied Learning Experiences in an Online Accelerated Degree Completion Nursing Program: The Leadership and Management Practicum”
  • Ayesha Sadaf, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, and Larisa Olesova, George Mason University, for Enhancing Cognitive Presence in Online Case Discussions with Question Based on Practical Inquiry Model”
  • Mark Brown, James Brunton, Ann, Cleary, Eamon Costello, Loraine Delaney, Seamus Fox, Jennifer, Lisa O’Regan, and Jamie Ward, Dublin City University, Maynooth University, Dundalk Institute of Technology, and Institute of Technology Sligo, for “Student Success Toolbox for Flexible Learners: Supporting Transitions from Thinking about Study to the First Weeks”
  • Frank Tomsic, Phylise Banner, Clark Shah-Nelson, Angela Gunder, Ann MusgroveJessica Knott, Robbie Melton, Bethany Bovard, and Dave Goodrich, for “The Technology Test Kitchen”
  • Shanta Goswami Varma and Henry Newkirk, University of Houston – Clear Lake, for “Pathway to Quality Online Education at University of Houston – Clear Lake”
  • Michael Brown, Tommy Bennett, and Lewis Williams, UMUC, for “Multiple Programming Language Introduction Programming Course”

The recipients of OLC’s first round of 2016 Effective Practice Awards were recognized at OLC Innovate 2016 in New Orleans:

See 2015 Effective Practice Award winners. See previous years’ winners.