The Online Learning Consortium annual awards recognize significant contributions to online education. The 2016 OLC Awards were presented at a luncheon at the OLC Accelerate conference at the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort, Lake Buena Vista, Florida, on Thursday, November 17, 2016. 

2016 OLC Awards Press Release

The recipients of the 2016 OLC Awards are:

Frank Mayadas Leadership Award in Online Education: Patricia James, Executive Director, California Community Colleges’ Online Education Initiative. 

Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching: Jennifer Redd, Director of eCampus, San Jose State University.

Excellence in Online Teaching: Courtney Stewart, Assistant Professor, Utah State University.

Outstanding Online Program: Tidal Leadership Certificate at Washington State University.

2016 Bruce Chaloux Memorial Conference Scholarship

The Bruce Chaloux Memorial Conference Scholarship Fund developed in memory of the former OLC CEO, supports the professional development of educators from around the world. The Scholarship provides recipients the opportunity to attend OLC conferences. Recipients of the 2016 Bruce Chaloux Memorial Conference Scholarship are:

  • Carolyn Stevenson, Faculty, Kaplan University
  • Sara Ombres, Assistant Director for the Rothwell Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence (CTLE), Embry Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Tara Lifland, Instructional Designer, George Washington University
  • Kimberly Hilton, Associate Professor of English, Ivy Tech Community College