The 2017 Class of Online Learning Consortium Fellows

Three OLC members recognized for exceptional contributions to the field of online learning.

Recognizing unusual professional distinction, the OLC Board of Directors confers the distinction of OLC Fellow upon individual members of the Online Learning Consortium who have:

  • Outstanding and extraordinary qualifications in the field of online learning;
  • Significant experience in online learning or an allied field;
  • A record of distinguished service to the Online Learning Consortium or the field; and
  • Extraordinary contributions or leadership in the field of online learning.

The members of the 2017 Class of OLC Fellows have contributed to advancing quality, scale and breadth in online and blended education in areas represented by the OLC Pillars of learning effectiveness, access, faculty and student satisfaction, and scale. The new OLC Fellows were recognized at OLC Accelerate 2017 in Orlando, FL, on November 15-17, 2017.

The 2017 OLC Fellows are:

  • Jill Buban, Ph.D., Senior Director of Research & Innovation, Online Learning Consortium
  • Vickie Cook, Ph.D., Executive Director for Online Learning, Research and Service, University of Illinois Springfield
  • Laurie Dringus, Ph.D., Professor, Nova Southeastern University

Dr. Buban was nominated by OLC Fellow and former OLC Board of Directors President Dr. Meg Benke, Professor, SUNY Empire State College, for her significant contributions in building visibility in online learning research, leadership at two OLC member institutions and in strengthening the research mission for the Online Learning Consortium.

Dr. Vickie Cook was nominated by OLC Fellow Dr. Larry Ragan, Principal Community Aggregator for the Penn State EdTech Network, for her active and engaged leadership in advancing online learning as an author, speaker, evaluator, and director of programs for the University of Illinois, Springfield.

Dr. Laurie Dringus for her exceptional contribution to research devoted to improving the field of online learning.

Drs. Buban, Cook, and Dringus join 44 individuals who have been recognized as Fellows of the Consortium since 2010. More information regarding the OLC Fellows Program is available at