Meet the 2018 Digital Learning Innovation Award Institutional Recipients

Concurrent Session 8
Streamed Session OLC Session

Watch This Session

Brief Abstract

Meet the 2018 DLIAward Institutional Awardees. Each institution that submitted for this year's award shared a common intention – that student success is positively impacted by digital learning initiatives. We know the field is young and that “success” is subjective, however, we hope that these exceptional pioneers inspire others and increase the number of underrepresented students completing college across the U.S. Representing the winning Institution-Led teams are; 

  • Dale Johnson, Arizona State University
    "Transforming College Algebra: Eliminating developmental math and using adaptive courseware to enable student success"
  • Suzanne Moody, Salt Lake Community College
    "Redesigning Quantitative Literacy Pathways for Student Success: Improving Learning Efficiency, Access and Outcomes in Community College Math Using OER Courseware"
  • Thomas B. Cavanagh, University of Central Florida
    "Using Innovative Adaptive Courseware to Enable Student Success in Gateway Mathematics Courses"


Jennifer Mathes, Ph.D serves as the Chief Executive Officer at the Online Learning Consortium. In this role, she provides the strategic direction for the organization and supports the development of key projects and programs to support OLC members. Dr. Mathes has 25 years of experience in both public and private education where she has continuously supported digital learning initiatives. In addition, Dr. Mathes is the author of the ICDE Report Global Quality in Online, Open, Flexible and Technology Enhanced Education: An Analysis of Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats (2019) and co-editor of the OLC Quality Scorecard Handbook: Criteria for Excellence in Blended Learning Programs (2017). She continues to write and present on key topics in online, blended and digital learning.

Extended Abstract