2014 OLC Awards, Recognizing Advances in Online Learning

NEWBURYPORT, Mass. — The Online Learning Consortium (OLC), formerly The Sloan Consortium, today announced the recipients of the 2014 OLC Awards and the 2014 Effective Practice Awards. All awards will be presented at a luncheon on Oct. 30 at the 20th Annual Online Learning Consortium International Conference, Oct. 29-31, 2014, in Orlando, Florida.
2014 OLC Awards, Recognizing Advances in Online Learning
The OLC Awards recognize the tremendous advances in online learning that result from the ideas and initiatives of individuals and colleges and universities globally. Added to this year's group of awards is the Bruce N. Chaloux Award for Early Career Excellence in Online Education, in memory of OLC's late CEO and executive director.
“The OLC Awards acknowledge creative and effective approaches to advancing online education,” said Burks Oakley II, chair of the Awards Selection Committee. “The 2014 recipients represent extraordinary examples of the exciting innovation happening in online learning today, and we congratulate them on their successes.” 
The recipients of the 2014 Sloan-C Awards are:
  • Frank Mayadas Leadership Award: Meg Benke, SUNY Empire State College, “For transformative leadership in advancing innovative models of online education for adult students and for advancing the cause of quality online education.”
  • John R. Bourne Outstanding Achievement in Online Education: Janet K. Poley, University of Nebraska, “For exemplary work and leadership that have helped to provide access to higher education on a national and international level.”
  • Bruce N. Chaloux Award for Early Career Excellence in Online Education: Luke Dowden, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, “For outstanding early-career contributions and leadership that have increased learners' access to quality online education.
  • Excellence in Institution-Wide Online Education: Ball State University, ”For embracing online education as a key strategic element of its mission, leading to outstanding online academic programs of quality, scale, and breadth.“
  • Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching: Oregon State University Extended Campus, ”For delivering a comprehensive, responsive, flexible, and effective faculty development program that helps faculty take their online teaching to the next level.“
  • Outstanding Online Program: School of Information, San José State University – Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS) degree, ”For developing and delivering an online master's degree that educates leaders who organize, manage and enable the effective use of information and ideas.“
  • Excellence in Online Teaching: Diane M. Reddy, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, ”For the development of the U-Pace online instructional approach, which has proven to increase student success by integrating concept mastery and proactive instructor support.“
The 2014 OLC Awards Selection Committee members are: Devon Cancilla, University of Missouri Kansas City, recipient of 2012 OLC Bourne Award for Outstanding Achievement in Online Education;  Catheryn Cheal, San Jose State University, OLC Board of Directors;  David Cillay, Washington State University, OLC Board of Directors; Susan Manning, recipient of 2013 OLC Award for Excellence in Online Teaching; Burks Oakley II, committee chair, recipient of 2003 OLC Bourne Award for Outstanding Achievement in Online Education; Kaye Shelton, recipient of 2013 OLC Bourne Award for Outstanding Achievement in Online Education; and Karen Vignare, OLC Fellow and Conference Chair of the 20th Annual OLC International Conference.
2014 Effective Practice Awards, Recognizing Effective Practices in Online Education
OLC also announced today the recipients of its 2014 Effective Practice Awards, which recognize effective techniques, strategies and practices in online education.
“Members of the OLC community continually strive to make quality online education accessible and affordable for anyone, anywhere, at any time,” said Sandra Coswatte, Director of the OLC Institute, OLC. “The OLC Effective Practice Awards recognize this commitment and provide a way for members to demonstrate what's working in online education and share best practices their peers can apply in their own programs.”
The 2014 Effective Practice Awards recipients are:
  • Dr. Scott E. Hamm, Dr. Charles Ruot and Wade Ashby, Hardin-Simmons University, Cisco College, Abilene Christian University, for “Teacher Text.”
  • Angela Gibson, Priscilla Coulter and Susan Sartory, American Public University System, for “Bringing the Library to Life: Live Librarian Instruction in a First-Year Online Course.”
  • Marie Hulme and Jaya Kannan, Sacred Heart University, for “SHUsquare: A Digital Networked Community to Engage Students and Faculty Across Disciplines and to Enhance Traditional, Blended and On-line Teaching and Learning.”
  • Melanie Shaw, Northcentral University, for “Teaching Through Feedback.”
  • Matthew A. Eichler, Joshua Book and Debbie Thorne, Texas State University, for “Self-certification of online courses by faculty from narrative to checklist - a simpler route.”
  • Dr. Mary C. Zatta and Robin J. Sitten, Perkins eLearning, Perkins School for the Blind, for “Accessible Online Course Design.”
  • Naza Djafarova, Melissa Abramovitz and Maureen Glynn, Ryerson University, for “Lake Devo – Creation, Collaboration and Reflection through a Customizable Online Role-Play Environment.”


The 2014 Effective Practice Awards Selection Committee members are: Dr. Bucky Dodd, Director of eLearning and Innovations, University of Central Oklahoma; Dr. Angela M. Gibson, Director, First Year Experience, and Instructor, American Public University System; Dr. Laurie G. Hillstock, Director of Distance Education, University of South Carolina – Upstate; Phil Ice, Ed.D., VP, Research & Development, American Public University System; Dr. Kaye Shelton, Associate Professor, Educational Leadership, Center for Doctoral Studies, Lamar University; Witt Salley, Director of Clemson Online, Clemson University; and Shari Smith, e-Education Facilitator, Professional Science Master's Program, Rice University.

About Online Learning Consortium
The Online Learning Consortium (OLC), formerly The Sloan Consortium, is the leading professional organization devoted to advancing the quality of online learning worldwide. The member-sustained organization offers an extensive set of resources for professional development and institutional advancement of online learning, including, original research, leading-edge instruction, best-practice publications, community-driven conferences and expert guidance. OLC members include educators, administrators, trainers and other online learning professionals, as well as educational institutions, professional societies and corporate enterprises. Visit https://onlinelearningconsortium.org/ for more information.  
Media Contact: Eileen Pacheco, Tango Group LLC, 508-888-7478, eileen@tango-group.com