Online Learning Consortium Announces Recipients of 2019 OLC Awards, Effective Practice Awards and Chaloux Scholarship


Honorees will be recognized at the 2019 OLC Accelerate Conference, Nov. 19-22, in Orlando.

NEWBURYPORT, Mass. (Sept. 10, 2019) — The Online Learning Consortium (OLC) today announced the recipients of the 2019 OLC Awards, Effective Practice Awards and the 2019 Bruce N. Chaloux Scholarship for Early Career Excellence. All honorees will be recognized at the upcoming OLC Accelerate conference (#OLCAccelerate), in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 19-22.

“This year’s award and scholarship recipients represent extraordinary examples of the innovation happening in digital teaching and learning today,” said Jennifer Mathes, Ph.D., Interim Chief Executive Officer of the Online Learning Consortium. “We thank them for their dedication to quality and congratulate them on their success.”

2019 OLC Awards, Recognizing Advances in Digital Learning

The OLC Awards recognize the tremendous advances in digital learning that result from the ideas and initiatives of individuals and colleges and universities around the world. The recipients of the 2019 OLC Awards are:

  • John R. Bourne Outstanding Online Program: Bruce Dugger, Associate Professor, Department of Fisheries and Wildlife, Oregon State University; and David Batts, Ed.D., Associate Professor, Department of Technology Systems, East Carolina University
  • Gomory-Mayadas Leadership in Online Learning: Jory Hadsell, Ed.D., Executive Director, CCC California Virtual Campus
  • Faculty Development for Online Teaching: @ONE, the professional development team of CVC-OEI, California Community Colleges
  • Innovation in Online Teaching: Celine Latulipe, Ph.D., Professor, College of Computing and Informatics, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Research Achievement in Online Education: Katrina Meyer, Ph.D., Emeritus Professor, University of Memphis

2019 Effective Practice Awards, Recognizing Effective Practices in Digital Education

OLC’s Effective Practice Awards recognize effective techniques, strategies and practices that are shared by members of the OLC community to advance quality and access to online programs.

“Members of the OLC community continually strive to make quality online education accessible and affordable for the modern learner,” said Lynette O’Keefe, Ph.D., Director, OLC Research Center, Online Learning Consortium. “The OLC Effective Practice Awards recognize this commitment and provide an opportunity for members to demonstrate what’s working in online education and share best practices that their peers can apply in their own programs.”

The following Effective Practices will be awarded at OLC Accelerate 2019:

  • “Concierge Support Model: Promoting Doctoral Student Success in an Online Program” – Lori Kupczynski, Professor; Sunddip Aguilar, Ed.D., Doctor of Education and Doctor of Health Sciences Program Director; Cindy Mathena, Ph.D., Dean of the College of Health Sciences, Interim Campus Director; Shannon Groff, Ph.D., Doctoral Advisor and Contributing Faculty; Frank Bennett, Academic Advisor; Kimberly Terrell, Post Professional Program Coordinator for Doctor of Education, Doctor of Health Science, and International Non-Degree Students; and Lindsay Rosenfeld, Senior Academic Program Assistant – University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences.
  • “Instructor Presence: A Sustainable Practice for Improving Student Success, Retention, and Satisfaction in the Online Classroom” – Michelle Rosser-Majors, Ph.D., Program Chair; Sandra Rebeor, Psy.D., Associate Professor; Christine McMahon, D.H.Ed., Program Chair and Associate Professor; and Stephanie Anderson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor – Ashford University.
  • “Pathways to Math Success” – Gwendolyn Britton, Ph.D., Associate Vice President, STEM Professions; Mark Gruen, M.Ed., Associate Dean, STEM; and Jamie Holcomb, Associate Dean, First-Year Experience and Education – Southern New Hampshire University.
  • “Integrating Competency-Based Micro-Credentials into Stackable Graduate Degrees” – Rene Corbeil, Ed.D.,Professor, Educational Technology; and Maria Elena Corbeil, Ed.D., Associate Professor, Educational Technology – University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.

2019 Bruce N. Chaloux Scholarship

The 2019 Bruce N. Chaloux Scholarship for Early Career Excellence in Online Education has been awarded to Bettyjo Bouchey, Ed.D., Associate Dean and Director of Online Academics, National Louis University. This scholarship was established in recognition of OLC’s former CEO, Dr. Bruce N. Chaloux, who was devoted to supporting leaders in online learning. It recognizes individuals who achieve extraordinary accomplishments in the field of online education at an early stage in their careers.

For more information on OLC’s award programs, visit

About Online Learning Consortium

The Online Learning Consortium (OLC) is a collaborative community of higher education leaders and innovators, dedicated to advancing quality digital teaching and learning experiences designed to reach and engage the modern learner – anyone, anywhere, anytime. OLC inspires innovation and quality through an extensive set of resources, including best-practice publications, quality benchmarking, leading-edge instruction, community-driven conferences, practitioner-based and empirical research and expert guidance. The growing OLC community includes faculty members, administrators, trainers, instructional designers, and other learning professionals, as well as educational institutions, professional societies and corporate enterprises. Visit for more information.