Sloan-C Announces 2014 Effective Practice Awards Honoring Innovation in Online Education

Awards will be presented at the 7th Annual Emerging Technologies for Online Learning International Symposium, April 9-11, in Dallas.

Newburyport, MA (PRWEB) March 04, 2014 - The Sloan Consortium (Sloan-C), an association of individuals, institutions and organizations of higher education committed to quality online education, will present its 2014 Effective Practice Awards at the 7th Annual Emerging Technologies for Online Learning International Symposium (ET4Online), April 9-11, in Dallas, Texas.

“We are proud to honor the outstanding commitment and accomplishments of this year’s field of nominees,” said Kathleen Ives, D.M., acting chief executive officer and executive director, The Sloan Consortium. “Through innovative practice, they have demonstrated their dedication to advancing online education.”

Through the Effective Practice initiative, the Sloan-C community shares techniques, strategies, and practices in online education that have worked effectively in their school or program. Effective practices are peer reviewed and evaluated against Sloan-C’s five pillars of quality in online education: access, learning effectiveness, faculty satisfaction, student satisfaction, and scalability. The winning practices were selected for recognition based on their ability to provide evidence of innovation and replicability.

The recipients of Sloan-C’s 2014 Effective Practice Awards are: 

  •     Rick Lumadue and Rusty Waller for “The Intersection of Technology & Institutional Effectiveness: Leveraging MERLOT Content Builder with Emerging Technology to Assess Programmatic Student Learning Outcomes”
  •     Deborah A. Raines for “Virtual Field Trips: An Online Learning Experience”
  •     Wendy Cowan and Mark Gale for “Community of Teaching and Learning”
  •     Brichaya Shah, Instructional Design Unit Team, OFSD, for “TADL: Insuring Faculty Competencies in the 3Ds of Online Course Delivery”
  •     Lee Woodham Digiovanni and Elke Leeds for “Enhancing Learning Effectiveness and Student Satisfaction Through A Student Connectivity Framework for Online Instruction”

The Sloan-C Effective Practice Awards selection committee members are: Dr. Angela M. Gibson, Director, First Year Experience, and Instructor, American Public University System; Dr. Laurie G. Hillstock, Director of Distance Education, University of South Carolina – Upstate; Phil Ice, Ed.D., VP, Research & Development, American Public University System; Dr. Kaye Shelton, Associate Professor, Educational Leadership Center for Doctoral Studies, Lamar University; Witt Salley, Director of Clemson Online, Clemson University; Shari Smith, e-Education Facilitator, Professional Science Master's Program, Rice University; and Sandra Coswatte, Director of the Sloan-C Institute, The Sloan Consortium, non-voting committee chair.

About Sloan-C 
The Sloan Consortium (Sloan-C) is the leading professional online learning society devoted to advancing quality e-Education learning into the mainstream of education through its community. Sloan-C is dedicated to providing access to high quality e-Education to individuals, institutions, professional societies and the corporate community. For more information, visit


Sloan-C Contact: 
Sandra Coswatte 
Director of Sloan-C Institute 
The Sloan Consortium