Sloan-C Honors Maryland University of Integrative Health, Rasmussen College and ProctorU for Effective Practices in Blended Learning

Award recipients will be recognized in a ceremony at the 11th Annual Sloan Consortium Blended Learning Conference & Workshop, July 8-9, in Denver


NEWBURYPORT, Mass. (June 3, 2014) — The Sloan Consortium (Sloan-C) today announced the recipients of its Blended Learning Effective Practice Awards, which recognize effective techniques, strategies and practices in online education. The recipients are:

Bevin Clare, Maryland University of Integrative Health, for “Student-Driven Case-Based Learning” 

Heather Zink and Kathe Kacheroski, Rasmussen College, for “Online+: A Standards-Based Approach to Hybrid Learning” 

Vincent Termini and Franklin Hayes, ProctorU, for “Student Identity Authentication Tools and Live Proctoring in Accordance With Regulations to Reduce Financial Aid Fraud Liability” 

“We are proud to honor the outstanding commitment and accomplishments of this year’s field of nominees,” said Kathleen Ives, D.M., acting chief executive officer and executive director, The Sloan Consortium. “Through innovative practice, they have demonstrated their dedication to advancing online education.”

The Blended Learning Effective Practice Awards will be presented next month, at the 11th Annual Sloan Consortium Blended Learning Conference & Workshop, July 8-9, in Denver, Colorado.

Effective practices are peer reviewed and evaluated against Sloan-C’s five pillars of quality in online education: access, learning effectiveness, faculty satisfaction, student satisfaction, and scalability. The winning practices were selected for recognition based on their ability to provide evidence of innovation and replicability.

The Sloan-C Blended Learning Effective Practice Awards selection committee members are: Bucky Dodd, PhD, Director of eLearning and Innovations, University of Central Oklahoma; Angela M. Gibson, PhD, Director, First Year Experience and Instructor, American Public University System; Laurie G. Hillstock, PhD, Director of Distance Education, University of South Carolina – Upstate; Kaye Shelton, PhD, Associate Professor, Educational Leadership, Center for Doctoral Studies, Lamar University; Witt Salley, Director of Clemson Online, Clemson University; Shari Smith, e-Education Facilitator, Professional Science Master's Program, Rice University; and Sandra Coswatte, Director of the Sloan-C Institute, The Sloan Consortium, Non-Voting Committee Chair.

About Sloan-C

The Sloan Consortium (Sloan-C) is the leading professional online learning society devoted to advancing quality e-Education learning into the mainstream of education through its community. Sloan-C is dedicated to providing access to high quality e-Education to individuals, institutions, professional societies and the corporate community. For more information, visit 



Sloan-C Contact:

Sandra Coswatte

Director of Sloan-C Institute

The Sloan Consortium



Media Contact:

Eileen Pacheco