Beginning in 2001, the Online Learning Consortium (OLC) has recognized outstanding work in the field of online education through its annual awards. The OLC Nominations, Awards, and Recognition Committee has overall responsibility for overseeing and monitoring OLC awards. 

OLC Awards for Excellence in Online Teaching, Research and Leadership

Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching: This award recognizes an OLC member institution for the development and delivery of an outstanding, comprehensive program for faculty professional development in online teaching.

Excellence and Innovation in Online Teaching: This award recognizes outstanding and creative use of appropriate educational technologies to teach an online and/or blended course in higher education.

Gomory-Mayadas Leadership Award in Online Education: This award honors outstanding individuals who exemplify the leadership and ideals of Ralph Gomory and A. Frank Mayadas. This award will be presented to an individual who exemplifies transformative leadership in the online education community.

John R. Bourne Outstanding Online Program: This award recognizes an OLC member institution for an outstanding online certificate, degree or continuing education program with a proven record of excellence, as demonstrated by its success in providing expanded access, learning effectiveness, and high levels of student and faculty satisfaction in a cost-effective manner.

Leadership in Equity and Inclusion in Online Learning: This award honors leaders in the field of digital learning who exemplify leadership qualities and who contribute to the field through the adoption of innovative practices or the contribution of new research to the field focused on the principles of equity and inclusion.

Online Learning Journal Outstanding Research Achievement Award in Online Education: This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated extraordinary achievements and research in the field of online education. This highly selective award is an honor that an individual cannot seek. Rather, the individual(s) are selected by the OLJ Editorial Board.


Bruce N. Chaloux Scholarship for Early Career Excellence: This scholarship recognizes individuals achieving extraordinary accomplishments in the field of online education at an early stage in their careers and is presented to individuals forty years of age and younger who have made significant contributions to online education. Nominees should be known for leadership activities, service to the profession, scholarly publications, and/or contributions to advancing the field.

OLC Equity & Inclusion Scholarship: This scholarship was established to provide access and opportunities to online learning professionals who are part of communities that are traditionally underrepresented and excluded in our field. Preference will be given to nominees who have made significant contributions to the field focused on equity and inclusion. (Nominations closed for OLC Innovate 2020 and will be presented at OLC Accelerate 2020 due to OLC Innovate 2020 moving to virtual).

OLC Effective Practice Awards

OLC Effective Practice Awards: These awards recognize successful efforts that help make quality online education accessible and affordable for anyone, anywhere, at any time, and provide an opportunity to recipients to share effective techniques, strategies, and practices in online education.

OLC Fellowships

OLC Fellows Program: Starting in 2010, the Online Learning Consortium has recognized individual OLC members as OLC Fellows. Recognition as an OLC Fellow is one of unusual professional distinction and is conferred upon individual members of the Online Learning Consortium by the OLC Board of Directors.

OLC Emerging Scholars Program: The OLC Emerging Scholars program provides current and recently (within one year) graduated doctoral students with the opportunity to contribute to research and publications, collaborate with institutions, and network with peers and mentors in the online learning community. 


Timeline of Important Dates:

Awards for OLC Innovate 2021 will open in early January, 2021

For additional information, please contact:

Dr. Jessica L. Knott
Assistant Vice President for Community Strategy, Experience, and Management
Online Learning Consortium

Sign up for email updates to get notified of award nominations and winners.

Interested in receiving updates about OLC awards?