A Complete Listing of All of the Sloan-C Fellows

Recognition as a Sloan-C Fellow is one of unusual professional distinction and is conferred by the Sloan-C Board of Directors upon individual members of the Sloan Consortium who have:

  • outstanding and extraordinary qualifications in the field of online learning;
  • significant experience in online learning or an allied field;
  • a record of distinguished service to Sloan-C or the field; and
  • extraordinary contributions or leadership in the field of online learning.

The number of individuals who can become Sloan-C Fellow in any one year shall be limited to a total not greater than one percent of the Sloan-C individual membership.

The following individuals have been recognized as Sloan-C Fellows:

Meg Benke (2010):  “For innovative and inspirational work in the creation, design, and evaluation of online student services and for sustained advocacy for online learning on a national scale.”

John R. Bourne (2010):  “For exceptional service as the founding Executive Director of the Sloan Consortium and the founding Editor of the Journal of Asynchronous Learning Networks.”

Bruce N. Chaloux (2010):  “For his leadership of Sloan-C as it transitioned to a self-sustaining professional society and for his contributions to national projects that demonstrated the power of online learning.”

Charles D. Dziuban (2010):  “For developing new and more effective data analysis models that provide information about technology’s impact on the online, blended and Web 2.0 learning environments.”

Eric E. Fredericksen (2013):  For exceptional national leadership in the development and advancement of online learning and for distinguished service to the Sloan Consortium.

D. Randy Garrison (2010):  “For advocacy of collaborative and engaged learning and for advancing our understanding of online and blended learning.

Christine Marie Geith (2013):  For outstanding leadership in promoting a wide array of technologies and policies needed to advance global online education.

Ralph E. Gomory (2010):  “For remarkable vision and leadership in recognizing the importance of online education and for making online education a recognized part of American higher education through targeted philanthropy on a national scale.”

Joel L. Hartman (2012):  “For exceptional leadership in online and blended learning on a national and international scale.”

Starr Roxanne Hiltz (2010):  “For conceiving the idea of Virtual Classrooms and for scholarship related to the design, implementation, and verification of effective online education over multiple decades.”

Phil Ice (2012):  “For distinguished service to Sloan-C and for outstanding research that has advanced the field of online learning.”

Tanya M. Joosten (2013):  For exceptionally creative work in advancing blended and online learning in the K-12 and higher education environments.

A. Frank Mayadas (2010):  “For outstanding vision and sustained leadership in transforming higher education through support of exemplary approaches to online education, and for creating the Sloan Consortium.”

Gary E. Miller (2010):  “In recognition of a forty-year career devoted to using online learning and electronic media to increase access to education at all levels nationally and internationally.”

Jacqueline F. Moloney (2010):  “For her role as a national leader in championing the application of the Sloan-C pillars in building online programs that provide quality access for students and while advancing strategic institutional goals.”

Patsy D. Moskal (2011):  “In recognition of her groundbreaking work in the assessment of the impact and efficacy of online and blended learning.”

Mary P. Niemiec (2011):  “For remarkable vision and national leadership in conceptualizing and advancing blended learning.”

Burks Oakley II (2010):  “For innovative and inspirational work in the conceptualization, implementation, and advocacy of online learning in higher education on a national scale.”

George Otte (2013):  For energetic, exemplary promotion of online and blended education across the many campuses of the country’s largest public, urban university system.

Bill Pelz (2013):  For distinguished service to faculty development that is deeply rooted in his extraordinary enthusiasm for and belief in online teaching and learning.

Anthony G. Picciano (2010):  “For outstanding publications that have advanced the field of online learning and for his tireless contributions to the conference activities of Sloan-C.”

Alexandra M. Pickett (2012):  “For innovation and vision in conceptualizing and implementing high-quality faculty development programs and course design and delivery processes.”

Janet K. Poley (2010):  “In recognition of a distinguished career devoted to expanding distance education and to improving technology access, and for exceptional service to Sloan-C.”

Lawrence C. Ragan (2011):  “For national leadership in preparing faculty for online teaching success and for creating innovative approaches to the design of online learning environments.”

Raymond E. Schroeder (2010):  “For increasing access to higher education by cultivating a breadth of online degree programs and for chronicling the progress of the theory and practice of online education through new media.”

John Sener (2013):  For pioneering development of online degree programs and for his contributions as an innovative thought leader in the field of online education.

Peter J. Shea (2011):  “For outstanding research that has advanced our understanding of online learning and for noteworthy contributions to the field of online education.”

Karen P. Swan (2010):  “For rigorous research that has advanced our understanding of learning effectiveness in online and blended education.”

Calvin H. Sydnor, III (2010):  “For sustained advocacy of online learning and its implementation within the HBCU community and for exemplary service to Sloan-C.”

Robert N. Ubell (2011):  “For exceptional leadership in scientific and technical online learning programming, international collaboration, and enterprise learning.”

Karen K. Vignare (2012):  “For exemplary service to Sloan-C and for visionary leadership in the administration of online learning programs having a global scale.”