OLC Awards

The Call for Nominations for the 2014 OLC Awards has closed and nominations are currently being reviewed.


The Online Learning Consortium (OLC) has recognized outstanding work in the field of online education through an annual awards process since 2001. The OLC Nominations, Awards, and Recognition Committee has overall responsibility for overseeing and monitoring all OLC awards, including

  • Existing awards
  • Proposing new awards
  • Establishing criteria for all awards
  • Creating and maintaining all procedures for nominations and selection
  • Proposing to the board financial or other considerations for all awards
  • Establishing/empaneling review committees as necessary 

The OLCC Awards for Excellence in Online Teaching and Learning

  • Excellence in Online Teaching
  • John R. Bourne Outstanding Achievement Award in Online Education
  • Bruce N. Chaloux Award for Early Career Excellence in Online Education
  • A. Frank Mayadas Leadership Award
  • Outstanding Online Program
  • Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching
  • Excellence in Institution-Wide Online Education
  • Ralph E. Gomory Award for Quality Online Education

View the complete listing of the recipients of each of the OLC awards from 2001-2013.

Chronology of the OLC Awards

[Click on the link to view details about each year's OLC Awards]

201320122011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001


Effective Practice Awards

More information about Effective Practices.
Submit an Effective Practice.
Click here to view Effective Practice Awards 

OLC Fellows Program

Starting in 2010, the Online Learning Consortium recognizes individual members of the Online Learning Consortium as OLC Fellows. Recognition as a OLC Fellow is one of unusual professional distinction and is conferred by the OLC Board of Directors upon individual members of the Online Learning Consortium who have:

  • Outstanding and extraordinary qualifications in the field of online learning;
  • Significant experience in online learning or an allied field;
  • A record of distinguished service to OLC or the field; and
  • Extraordinary contributions or leadership in the field of online learning.


Additional details about the program and listing of OLC Fellows.


OLC Nominations, Awards, and Recognition Committee

Burks Oakley II, University of Illinois, Chair
Cathy Cheal, San Jose State University, Vice Chair
Frank Mayadas, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation (retired)
Kenneth Hartman, Eduventures
Cassandra Herring, Hampton University
Sandra Coswatte, Online Learning Consortium, Staff Liaison

More Information

To Call Us:

(781) 583-7561

To Contact Us:

Complete our contact form below to speak to someone about the OLC Awards

* fields are required.

Are you currently an OLC Member?

Referring URL:

Campaign List:


Security Question
What is three multiplied by thirteen?
(enter a number value)