Presented at the 11th OLC Annual International Conference on Asynchronous Learning Networks. These annual awards recognize significant contributions to online education.

2005 OLC Awards Brochure

Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching
University of Massachusetts Lowell, Online Teaching Institute

Excellence in Institution-Wide Online Teaching & Learning Programming
University of Massachusetts Lowell, Online Education Program

Excellence in Online Teaching
Joan Cannon, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Most Outstanding Achievement in Online Learning by an Individual
Charles Dziuban, University of Central Florida

Most Outstanding Online Teaching & Learning Program
University of Maryland University College, MBA Program

2005 OLC Awards Selection Committee:

  • Judith S. Eaton, President, Council for Higher Education Accreditation
  • Starr Roxanne Hiltz, Distinguished Professor, New Jersey Institute of Technology, 2004 OLC Award for Most Outstanding Achievement in Online Learning by an Individual
  • John V. Lombardi, President, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Joseph McDonald, President, Salish-Kootenai College
  • William Messner, President, Holyoke Community College
  • Burks Oakley II, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Illinois, 2003 Award for Most Outstanding Achievement in Online Teaching & Learning by an Individual
  • Gerardo de los Santos, President, League for Innovation in the Community College
  • Ray Schroeder, Professor of Communication, University of Illinois at Springfield, 2002 OLC Award for Most Outstanding Achievement in ALN by an Individual
  • Eric E. Fredericksen, Eric E. Fredericksen, Associate Vice Provost, University of Rochester, non-voting committee chair

2005 OLC Effective Practice Award
Mercy College (New York) for its practice of”Using Cohorts to Build an Online Learning Community.”

2005 Effective Practices Award Nomination and Selection Committees:

Nominees for Effective Practices Awards were made by the OLC editors for effective practices:

  • Tana Bishop, the University of Maryland University College
  • Melody Thompson, The Pennsylvania State University World Campus
  • John Sener, Sener Learning Services
  • Peter Shea, The University at Albany
  • Karen Swan, Kent State University

Awardees were selected by an invited panel of judges:

  • John Olin Campbell, Brigham Young University
  • Bruce Chaloux, Southern Regional Education Board
  • Mary Niemiec, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • George Otte, City University of New York
  • Carol Scarafiotti, Rio Salado College