The Online Learning Consortium annual awards recognize significant contributions to online education. The 2014 OLC Awards will be presented at a luncheon at the 20th Annual Online Learning Consortium International Conference at the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort, Lake Buena Vista, Florida, on Thursday, October 30, 2014. The theme for the conference is “Driving Innovation with Online Learning.”


The recipients of the 2014 OLC Awards are:

A. Frank Mayadas Leadership Award
Meg Benke, SUNY Empire State College: “For transformative leadership in advancing innovative models of online education for adult students and for advancing the cause of quality online education.”

John R. Bourne Award for Outstanding Achievement in Online Education
Janet K. Poley, University of Nebraska-Lincoln: “For exemplary work and leadership that have helped to provide access to higher education on a national and international level.”

Bruce N. Chaloux Award for Early Career Excellence in Online Education
Luke Dowden, University of Louisiana at Lafayette: “For outstanding early-career contributions and leadership that have increased learners’ access to quality online education.”

Award for Excellence in Institution-Wide Online Education

Ball State University:“For embracing online education as a key strategic element of its mission, leading to outstanding online academic programs of quality, scale, and breadth.”

Award for Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching

Oregon State University Extended Campus:“For delivering a comprehensive, responsive, flexible, and effective faculty development program that helps faculty take their online teaching to the next level.”

Outstanding Online Program Award

School of Information, San José State University – Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS) degree: “For developing and delivering an online master’s degree that educates leaders who organize, manage and enable the effective use of information and ideas.”

Excellence in Online Teaching Award

Diane M. Reddy, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee: “For the development of the U-Pace online instructional approach, which has proven to increase student success by integrating concept mastery and proactive instructor support.”

The OLC Awards Selection Committee for 2014 was comprised of:

  • Devon Cancilla, University of Missouri Kansas City, recipient of 2012 OLC Bourne Award for Outstanding Achievement in Online Education
  • Catheryn Cheal, San Jose State University, OLC Board of Directors
  • David Cillay, Washington State University, OLC Board of Directors
  • Susan Manning, recipient of 2013 OLC Award for Excellence in Online Teaching
  • Burks Oakley II, committee chair, recipient of 2003 OLC Bourne Award for Outstanding Achievement in Online Education
  • Kaye Shelton, recipient of 2013 OLC Bourne Award for Outstanding Achievement in Online Education
  • Karen Vignare, OLC Fellow and Conference Chair of the 20th Annual OLC International Conference