The Online Learning Consortium annual awards recognize significant contributions to online education. The 2015 OLC Awards were presented at a luncheon at the 21st Annual Online Learning Consortium International Conference at the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort, Lake Buena Vista, Florida, on Thursday, October 15, 2015. The theme for the conference was “Driving Innovation with Online Learning.”

2015 OLC Awards Press Release

The recipients of the 2015 OLC Awards are:

Frank Mayadas Leadership Award in Online Education: Gerard L. Hanley, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Technology Services, California State University Office of the Chancellor, for extraordinary leadership of transformative initiatives that connect all aspects of online education, and for persistent dedication to delivering and sharing positive impact through collaborative achievement.

Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching: Online Teacher Certification, Kennesaw State, for its large-scale effectiveness, excellent use of quantitative data, and its flexibility for faculty offering multiple pathways to certification.

Ralph E. Gomory Award for Quality Online Education: NYU Tandon School of Engineering, for outstanding success in furthering online learning programs in engineering, especially by using quantitative metrics to improve quality in their online pedagogy.

Bruce N. Chaloux Award for Early Career Excellence in Online Education: Witt Salley, Executive Director of Clemson Online, Clemson University, for outstanding leadership, energy and enthusiasm for collaborative service work, program development, and scholarship in online teaching and learning.

The John R. Bourne Outstanding Achievement Award in Online Education: M’hammed Abdous, Assistant VP for Teaching with Technology/Director, Center for Learning and Teaching, Old Dominion University, for strengthening, innovating, and collaborating in online education, both nationally and internationally, by developing frameworks, tools, and best practices that continue to foster and improve online education.

Excellence in Online Teaching: Steven P. Schinke, D’Elbert and Selma Keenan Professor of Social Work, Ph.D., Columbia School of Social Work, for success in offering a difficult subject online, both with synchronous and asynchronous methods, continuous improvement, while achieving extremely high retention and pass rates with a variable small to large-scale student enrollments.

Outstanding Online Program: West Virginia University Integrated Marketing Communications Program (WVUIMC) Reed College of Media, for excellent growth, leading-edge, interactive coursework, and a dedication to student success and satisfaction.

OLC Awards Sub-Committee:

Catheryn Cheal, San Jose State University, OLC Board of Directors, Chair
Jan Poley, recipient of 2014 OLC Bourne Award for Outstanding Achievement in Online Education
Diane M. Reddy, University of Wisconsin-Milwauke, recipient of the 2014 Online Teaching Award
Burks Oakley II, recipient of 2003 OLC Bourne Award for Outstanding Achievement in Online Education
Susan Manning Ed.D., recipient of 2013 OLC Award for Excellence in Online Teaching Graduate Faculty, School of Education University of Wisconsin-Stout
Ken Hartman, Senior Fellow and Principal Analyst at Eduventures
Kathleen Ives, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, Online Learning Consortium
Jean Simmons, Director of Marketing, Online Learning Consortium