In recognition of the exponential growth in online learning, the Online Learning Consortium (OLC) announced its first annual awards for excellence in Web-based education. The honors were presented to the recipients on November 16, 2001 by the leadership of OLC.

2001 OLC Awards brochure
Excellence in ALN Faculty Development
The SUNY Learning Network

Excellence in Institution-Wide ALN Programming
The University of Maryland University College (UMUC)

Excellence in ALN Teaching
Dr. Lorelei A. Lambert, Salish Kootenai College

Most Outstanding Achievement in ALN by an Individual
Dr. John R. Bourne, Olin and Babson Colleges

Most Outstanding ALN Program
The LEEP program, an online Master of Science degree offered by the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2001 OLC Awards Selection Committee:

  • Judith S. Eaton, President, Council for Higher Education Accreditation
  • James J. Duderstadt, President Emeritus of the University of Michigan
  • John V. Lombardi, President Emeritus of the University of Florida
  • Joseph McDonald, President of Salish Kootenai College
  • Linda M. Thor, President of Rio Salado College
  • Burks Oakley II, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs at the University of Illinois, served as the non-voting committee chair

EDUCAUSE Awards for 2001
EDUCAUSE is proud to recognize exceptional leadership and both individual and institutional accomplishments through its five award programs. Winners were honored at EDUCAUSE 2001.

  • Systemic Progress in Teaching & Learning: State University of New York,
  • Eric E. Fredericksen and Peter J. Shea, SUNY System Administration

2000 CAEL
Institutional Service Award: Online Learning Consortium for its outstanding commitment to the expansion of lifelong learning opportunities and for its innovative efforts to improve access to and quality in academic programs for adult learners.

Sloan’s Mayadas, GWU’s Christensen Awarded Top Honors at NUTN 1999 Conference
The National University Telecommunications Network (NUTN): Dr. A. Frank Mayadas of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and Ted Christensen of The George Washington University.