The 2002 OLC annual awards were presented at the 8th Annual OLC International Conference on Online Learning in Orlando, Florida, on November 8, 2002. Burks Oakley II, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs at the University of Illinois, and non-voting chair of the selection committee, commented that the very high quality of this year’s nominations demonstrates that online learning is in the fabric of today’s higher learning: “These awards recognize, not just individuals, not just institutions-but also the immense networks of people engaged in improving higher education.”

2002 OLC Awards brochure

Excellence in ALN Faculty Development
The Illinois Online Network (ION)

Excellence in Institution-Wide ALN Programming
The State University of New York Learning Network (SLN)

Excellence in ALN Teaching
Professor Mary Ann Koory, University of California Berkeley Extension Online

Most Outstanding Achievement in ALN by an Individual
Professor Ray Schroeder, University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS)

Most Outstanding ALN Program
The Graduate Medical Education (GME) Core Curriculum, offered by the College of Medicine at the University of Illinois at Chicago

2002 OLC Awards Selection Committee:

  • Judith S. Eaton, President, Council for Higher Education Accreditation
  • James J. Duderstadt, President Emeritus of the University of Michigan
  • John V. Lombardi, Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Joseph McDonald, President of Salish Kootenai College
  • Linda M. Thor, President of Rio Salado College
  • Zelema M. Harris, President, Parkland College
  • Sidney A. McPhee, President, Middle Tennessee State University
  • Burks Oakley II, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs at the University of Illinois, served as the non-voting committee chair

The Online Learning Consortium 2002 Effective Practice Awards

Excellence in Online Learning Effectiveness
Mercy College
Dr. Boria Sax
Wizards: Student Tutors Help Peers Learn

Excellence in Online Cost Effectiveness
The Pennsylvania State University
Dr. John T. Harwood and Dr. William L. Harkness
Mixed Delivery Model Proves Cost-Effective

Excellence in Online Access
Rio Salado College
Carol J. Scarafiotti and Dr. Patricia S. Case
Systems Approach to Online Learning

Excellence in Online Faculty Satisfaction
The Pennsylvania State University
Multi-Dimensional Model for Review of Scholarly Activity

Excellence in Student Satisfaction
Pace University
Dr. David Sachs and Dr. Nancy L. Hale
Online Support Services: Focus on Student Satisfaction