The Online Learning Consortium annual awards were presented during the OLC Gala at the 10th Annual OLC International Conference on Asynchronous Learning Networks in Orlando, Florida, on November 12, 2004. These awards recognize significant contributions to online education.

2004 OLC Awards Brochure

Excellence in Online Teaching & Learning Faculty Development
University of Nebraska Summer Institute for Online Teaching

Excellence in Institution-Wide Online Teaching & Learning Programming

Excellence in Online Teaching
Jason Scorza, Fairleigh Dickinson University

Most Outstanding Achievement in Online Learning by an Individual
Starr Roxanne Hiltz, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Most Outstanding Online Teaching & Learning Program
University of Wisconsin Master of Engineering in Professional Practice

2004 OLC Awards Selection Committee:

  • Judith S. Eaton, President, Council for Higher Education Accreditation
  • John V. Lombardi, President, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Joseph McDonald, President, Salish-Kootenai College
  • Sidney A. McPhee, President, Middle Tennessee State University
  • William Messner, Chancellor, University of Wisconsin Colleges
  • Diana Oblinger, Vice-President, EDUCAUSE
  • Eric E. Fredericksen, Director of Distributed Learning Services, Cornell University, non-voting committee chair

2004 OLC Effective Practice Awards

  • Effective Practice Award for Discipline-Specific Online Writing Lab with 24/7 Access and Asynchronous Peer Tutoring – Rogue Community College
  • Effective Practice Award for Integrated Laboratory Network: Better Access to Scientific Instrumentation – Western Washington University
  • Effective Practice Award forEffective Feedback to the Instructor from Online Homework – Michigan State University
  • Effective Practice Award for Providing anytime, anywhere online access to higher education for a highly mobile learner population – eArmyU
  • Effective Practice Award for Supporting Online Adjunct Faculty: A Virtual Mentoring Program – Florida Community College at Jacksonville

Effective Practices were nominated by the OLC editors for effective practices:

  • Meg Benke, Empire State College
  • Tana Bishop, University of Maryland University College
  • Melody Thompson, Pennsylvania State University World Campus
  • John Sener, Sener Learning Services
  • Karen Swan, Kent State University.

Awardees were selected by an invited panel of judges: Bruce Chaloux, Southern Regional Education Board; Joeann Humbert, Rochester Institute of Technology; George Otte, City University of New York; Carol Scarafiotti, Rio Salado College; and Ray Schroeder, University of Illinois-Springfield.