Through the OLC Effective Practices program, the OLC community shares techniques, strategies and practices that have worked effectively in their institution or program. Effective practices are peer-reviewed and evaluated against OLC’s five pillars of quality in digital education: access, learning effectiveness, faculty satisfaction, student satisfaction, and scalability. Two rounds of Effective Practices are awarded annually. The first round was awarded at the OLC Innovate conference and the second round was presented at OLC Accelerate in November.

The first round of 2020 OLC Effective Practice Award recipients are:

  • Enhancing Skills-Based Education Through Video Feedback” – Miles Mitchell, M.E., Anne Lanute, M.A., Jamie Holcomb, M.M., Janet Rorschach, Auguste Escoffier School of Culinary Arts
  • “SNHU Arboretum Collaboration: Growing Experiential Learning Opportunities for Online Students” – Jill Nugent, M.S., Sue McKenzie, Ed.D., Kelly Thrippleton-Hunter, Ph.D., Mike Weinstein, M.S., Southern New Hampshire University
  • “HeaRT: A Model for Solving Workplace Problems with Effective Practice” – Stacey Rosenberg, D.N.P., Toni Clayton, Ph.D., Jan Wyatt, Ph.D., Denise Bisaillon, Ed.D., Beth VanOrsdale, D.N.P, and Laurie Lewis, Southern New Hampshire University 
  • “Online Student Support Squad” – Bettyjo Bouchey, Ed.D., Courtney Bondi, M.A., Veronica Wilson, M.A., Gina DiMartino, M.A., National Louis University
  • “University of Hawai’i Online 5-Week Professional Development” – Dorothy Hirata, Ph.D., Hui-Ya Chuang, Ph.D., Hong Ngo, Ph.D., Matt Parcon, M.Ed., Alice Swift, Ph.D., Marisa Yamada, Ph.D., University of Hawai’i

Read more about OLC Innovate 2020 in this press release.

The second round of OLC’s 2020 Effective Practice Awards were presented at the OLC Accelerate 2020 conference.

  • Three-Pronged Approach to Prepare Students for Enrollment in Online Courses” – Angela Francis, Ph.D., Assistant Dean of General Education & First Year Experience, CUNY School of Professional Studies (CUNY SPS)
  • “Virtual Teaching Partnership to Enhance Music Education Majors’ Distance Learning Skills”Kathleen Melago, Doctor of Musical Arts, Associate Professor of Music Education, Slippery Rock University

See previous years’ winners.