The 2013 Class of OLC Fellows

Six OLC members recognized for exceptional contributions to the field of online learning.

Recognizing unusual professional distinction, the OLC Board of Directors confers the distinction of OLC Fellow upon individual members of the Online Learning Consortium who have:

  • Outstanding and extraordinary qualifications in the field of online learning;
  • Significant experience in online learning or an allied field;
  • A record of distinguished service to OLC or the field; and
  • Extraordinary contributions or leadership in the field of online learning.

The members of the 2013 Class of OLC Fellows have contributed to advancing quality, scale and breadth in online and blended education in areas represented by the OLC Pillars of learning effectiveness, access, faculty and student satisfaction, and scale. The new OLC Fellows were recognized at the 19th Annual OLC International Conference on Online Learning in Orlando, FL, in November 2013.

The 2013 OLC Fellows are:

  • Eric E. Fredericksen, Ph.D., University of Rochester, “For exceptional national leadership in the development and advancement of online learning and for distinguished service to the Sloan Consortium.”
  • Christine Marie Geith, Ph.D., Michigan State University, “For outstanding leadership in promoting a wide array of technologies and policies needed to advance global online education.”
  • Tanya Joosten, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, “For exceptionally creative work in advancing blended and online learning in the K-12 and higher education environments.”
  • George Otte, Ph.D., City University of New York, “For energetic, exemplary promotion of online and blended education across the many campuses of the country’s largest public, urban university system.”
  • Bill Pelz, Ph.D., Herkimer County Community College, “For distinguished service to faculty development that is deeply rooted in his extraordinary enthusiasm for and belief in online teaching and learning.”
  • John Sener, Sener Learning, “For pioneering development of online degree programs and for his contributions as an innovative thought leader in the field of online education.”