Overview Agenda for IELOL Immersion 2020

The IELOL 2020 Immersion program will begin the week of August 3rd and conclude Thursday, August 13th.* Due to the COVID-19 situation, immersion activities will be online.
*Please check back occasionally as the program plan may change.

Program Goal

The Online Learning Consortium (OLC) in collaboration with the University of Central Florida (UCF), will provide an intensive, comprehensive leadership development program to expand the career pathways and networks of leaders in the field of digital and online education.


Program Overview

The Institute for Emerging Leadership in Online Learning (IELOL) is a unique blended-learning leadership development program sponsored by the Online Learning Consortium and the University of Central Florida. IELOL serves the development needs of emerging leaders responsible for a variety of online and digital learning initiatives.


Program Competencies* and Objectives

  • Self-Awareness – Explore and operationalize a personal understanding of digital learning leadership across various institutional contexts
  • Adaptability – Develop an understanding of the role of digital learning in a more complex and rapidly changing higher education environment
  • Learning Agility – Conceptualize a leadership perspective to address institutional challenges to advancing digital learning in an increasingly hyper-competitive marketplace
  • Entrepreneurial Leadership – Recognize institutional opportunities and strategic values inherent within digital education
  • Collaboration – Identify and collaborate with strategic partners across the digital learning global landscape
  • Network Thinking – Establish a network of national and international colleagues involved in a variety of digital education initiatives

*Program competencies were drawn from work published by the Center for Creative Leadership.


Monday, August 3 – Friday, August 7

The Immersion format will be completely virtual for IELOL 2020. Every day covers a leadership theme. The days in the first week of the Immersion (Monday, August 3 – Friday, August 7) typically have the same daily format:

  • Introduction to the theme of the day video recording (2 minutes)
  • Live session with a synchronous activity (45 minutes or 1 hour) starting at  8:00 AM PT, 9:00 AM MT, 10:00 AM CT, 11:00 AM ET
  • 3 Brief, recorded presentations with asynchronous activities (15 minutes each)
  • Live community forum (30 minutes) starting at 11:15 AM PT, 12:15 PM MT, 1:15 PM CT, 2:15 PM ET
  • Digital Learning Council Group Time (1 hour) suggested meeting time at 12:15 PM PT, 11:15 PM MT, 2:15 PM CT, 3:15 PM ET

Themes during Week 1

Monday – UCF as a Case Study for Advancing Digital Learning

Tuesday – Comparing Leadership Across Institutional Contexts

Wednesday – Humanizing Digital Education through Inclusivity, Equity, Accessibility, and Your Personal Understanding of Leadership

Thursday – Executing Leadership to Address Institutional Challenges

Friday – Uncovering Institutional Opportunities


Monday, August 10 – Wednesday, August 12

The days in the second week of the Immersion (Monday, August 10 – Wednesday, August 12) typically follows the same daily format:

  • Introduction to the theme of the day video recording (2 minutes)
  • Brief, recorded presentation with asynchronous activities (15 minutes) starting 
  • Live session with a synchronous activity (45 minutes or 1 hour) starting at 8:30 AM PT, 9:30 AM MT, 10:30 AM CT, 11:30 AM ET
  • Break  (30 – 45 minutes)
  • Live community forum (30 minutes) starting at 10:00 AM PT, 11:00 AM MT, 12:00 PM CT, 1:00 PM ET
  • Live session with a synchronous activity (45 minutes or 1 hour) starting at  11:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM MT, 1:00 PM CT, 2:00 PM ET
  • Break (30 – 45 minutes)
  • Live community forum (30 minutes) starting at 12:30 PM PT, 1:30 PM MT, 2:30 PM CT, 3:30 PM ET

Live Digital Learning Council Group Time (1 hour) suggested meeting time 1:30 PM PT, 2:30 PM MT, 3:30 PM CT, 4:30 PM ET


Thursday, August 13, 2020

The format of the last day is different due to the culminating activity of the IELOL Immersion Program, the Digital Learning Council (DLC) Activity.

  • Introduction to the theme of the day video recording (2 minutes)
  • Brief, recorded presentation (5 minutes)
  • Live DLC Activity starting at 9:30 AM PT, 10:30 AM MT, 11:30 AM CT, 12:30 PM ET
  • Break (30 minutes)
  • Live DLC Panel Session starting at 10:30 AM PT, 11:30 AM MT, 12:30 PM CT, 1:30 PM ET
  • DLC Proposal Recordings
  • Immersion graduation recording
  • Live networking starting at 1:30 PM PT, 2:30 PM MT, 3:30 PM CT, 4:30 PM ET
  • Congratulations! After completing the Immersion survey, download your Certificate of Completion.Time to complete the evaluation survey

Participants should plan to attend all sessions, listen to all recordings, and participate in all activities. Should circumstances prevent this, especially during the first week of the Immersion, all sessions will be recorded for later viewing.

Themes during Week 2

Monday: Comparison of Strategic Values (Including You) Inherent in Digital Education Enterprise

Tuesday: Strategic Execution of Leadership

Wednesday: Strategic Methods and Collaborations to Advance Digital Education Internationally

Thursday: Digital Learning Council Activity